Toby_HB

F-1 AOS & Tax / I-864 question.

10 posts in this topic

Hello all, 

Me and my parter are planning on sending our Marriage/Permanent Resident package in the next couple of weeks as my OPT-EAD end date is at the beginning of August. I had a question regarding taxes and form -864, Affidavit of Support Under Section 213A of the INA. I was originally under the impression we would both have to send in our W2/ taxes from the 2019 tax year. But from my understanding since she in the financial sponsor it's only her who has to submit her W2's and a copy of her taxes from the previous tax year. I was also told by an immigration attorney that I don't need to include a copy of my foreign taxes from 2019, I was a student in the US but I still filed in my home country but had no income as I was present in the US. 

I'm asking because when I filed with H&R in the US block they filed me as a resident alien but I've only been here since 2017, which I just realized is a mistake. Can we still file while I go back to H&R block to fix the issue since I am not technically submitting any of my tax info. The timing is the issue and I don't know how long it will take for H&R block to fix the tax filing from resident alien to non-resident alien. I also realized because I was a foreign student here for taxes purposes and I didn't make above 

minimum I think which is $12,000 I didn't even need to file? 

Sorry if this is in the wrong section. 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Morocco
Timeline

were you married in 2019?  makes a big difference 

and you would be resident alien as you were living here not out of the country

Edited by JeanneAdil

No we got married 2 weeks ago here in California, June 2020.  I heard there is a rule if you have been here under 5 years you file as a non-resident alien. 

I'm just confused if we both need to submit the tax info when we send it in or just her as she in the financial  sponsor?

35 minutes ago, JeanneAdil said: