10 posts in this topic

Hey there! I've visited VisaJourney for the insight plenty of times now but this is my first post - I'm a UK resident engaged to wonderful Idahoan, we've just started filling things out and gathering evidence of our relationship, but I've got a question regarding my surname and need to work out the best way to proceed before we actually file. I've long intended to change my surname and know what I want to change it to. In England this is a fairly simple process and can be completed by Deed Poll - once approved I'd need to reach out to the passport office, my bank, workplace and such so the change is reflected there too. However, I'm hearing that this may have the potential to significantly complicate our application, and if it comes down to it I'd much rather stave-off changing my name if that means we can be together sooner.
I've seen answers on the forum talking about changing surname at marriage (usually one party taking the surname of the other, or, with one poster, both parties selecting a fresh new name jointly) - we love eachother immensely but are simultaneously very independent people - in her case, she wants to keep her current name, and in mine, I'd like to go forward in our new life together with the surname I've chosen to myself. Do you know if it's possible for me to make this change at marriage? If so, how does this affect the AOS, who should I inform, and how should I fill the documents out accordingly? Is it best to change it in England and bring a copy of the accepted deed poll forward, or would the discrepancy between my birth certificate and historic documentation against the new name just needlessly complicate the process? 

This is unconventional territory, and if anyone here has experience and wisdom on the matter we'd both be eternally grateful

Thanks, and all the best to you!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline

Where do you plan to marry?