kat10kat2

Financial Issue and Joint Sponsor question

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello, this is my first time on this site and i would like some advice.

I am a US Citizen living in California and my fiance is from England. I have yet to apply because I am worried about the providing evidence of financial support part of the process. I am currently a student, and the only time I ever had a job was a seasonal position that i only had for the summer. I did not make enough that i was required to file taxes, so i dont know what i would do when filling out the I-134 form. has anyone had a experience like this? 

I do have someone willing to do a joint sponsor, but can only family do it? She is my half-sister's half sister.

Sorry if I did not make much sense!

Anyone over 18 can be a co sponsor and they do not have to be family. As long as they make over 125% property line they that person will be good. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

London allows you to self sponsor.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

It won't be a problem from a procedural aspect but if you are not even making $20,000 a year how do you plan to keep 2 people in California on your small income? You do realise he won't be able to work for many months and after you marry you will have to pay over $1000 in additional fees for him to get his green card? 

So from a practical aspect it could be a problem. You might want to consider getting married and filing a spousal visa. It's cheaper, you don't have additional fees when he arrives, and he will be able to work immediately. 

Timeline in brief:

Married: September 27, 2014

I-130 filed: February 5, 2016

NOA1: February 8, 2016 Nebraska

NOA2: July 21, 2016