Habibati & Habibi

K1 , Married : How to file for taxes?

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Algeria
Timeline

hello Vjs

I would like to inquire about doing taxes in the US for the first time in my life here, I hear people say the state and federal tax, withholding and other terms. My wife do taxes but she do not even know how and I want to know , how the government withhold taxes from worker pay and how the percentage is calculated am d what is the difference between federal and state taxes.

since this is my first time to file , and being married what is the best way to file for taxes? separately or jointly?

thank you

----------------------------------------------

Diversity is the Spice of life and I add ; translation is the mother of all sciences.

Timeline

thank you for the reply, however could you please explain more?

thank you

----------------------------------------------

Diversity is the Spice of life and I add ; translation is the mother of all sciences.

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Italy
Timeline
On ‎2‎/‎14‎/‎2018 at 5:29 PM, Saiali said:

joint if together u made less than 100,000 for 2017. Separate if one of u made more considerably more or owned a business. 

That's incorrect.

MFS is convenient only in few specific cases.

Usually, MFJ produces the lower tax liabilities.

What you were referring is probably "single' filing status, but if they were married as of 12/31/17, that's not an option.

AOS:

RD: 6/21/06

Biometrics: 7/25/06

ID: 10/24/06 - Approved

Conditional GC Received: 11/3/06

I-751

RD: 7/31/08

NOA 1: 8/6/08

Biometrics: 8/26/08

Transferred to CSC: 2/25/09

Approved: 4/23/09 (email received)

Card mailed: 4/28/09 (email received)

Card Received: 5/1/09

N-400

RD & PD: 7/28/09

NOA 1: 8/1/09

Biometric appt: 8/12/09

Interview Letter received: 10/02/09 (notice dated 09/29)

Interview Date: 11/10/09 at Federal Plaza in Manhattan

Oath Letter: 11/10/09