tiurzm

The best time to apply fiance visa

5 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, please your advice

I just started my new job as a teacher a few days ago, July 2017. The school asks me to work for at least a year. I can't get off day a few months later (until the sixth months) because i am a new teacher there. So i am confused what month should i apply for my fiance visa. If i want to have the visa on June 1, 2018, should i apply my visa on October or November? Please your advice everyone.

Thank you :)

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi :) I am pretty new to this process too, so forgive me if I am wrong on this (I'm sure a more experienced member will come along soon). Anyway, from what I understand the visa process takes anywhere from about 6 to 8 months, sometimes longer, but once you get the visa, you have 6 months to actually enter the U.S. I hope that helps :)

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Morocco
Timeline

You are a new teacher where?  Here in US and you want to apply for your finance?

or in Indonesia and you want to marry an american?

If you are the foreigner, the US citizen must apply for the K1 visa

And you need to have met in person

If you are here and US citizen apply anytime

/ make sure your income meets the 125% poverty guidelines as seen on internet 

good luck

You're right - October or November would get you your visa by around June in the BEST CASE SCENARIO. 

Keep in mind that very basic things (like getting a police check, original birth certificates, etc) can take months to do if you don't plan ahead, so don't plan any actual dates once the process starts. It also depends on how busy the processing centers are, when you get your visa interview, etc.

You might intend to marry in June, but it could easily end up being later OR even earlier.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Indonesia
Timeline

Hey Tiurzm --