ainteven

Intent to Marry a part of the Military

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hi guys! This is my very first time to ask here in VJ. I have a boyfriend who is in New Mexico. He works as a recruiter in the US Army. By far I know he is a SFC. He is now planning to come here. Target date is in June or July since school semester is a very busy time for him going to different schools recruiting students who wants to be a part of the Military. In June they will move him to the southern part I think if New Mexico.

We are planning to apply for a K1 Visa after his visit here. But I also want to consider getting married here in the Philippines but we were thinking it might take longer for him to get me if we choose to get married here in the Philippines. Suggestions, anyone? It would be a very big help. Plus, how long does it usually take for the application to get done until approved?

Thank you so much! Would highly appreciate your answers! Take care! :)

Ish A. :dancing:

That's a decision only you and your fiance can make. What matters more to you? Getting married in the Philippines or be with him faster in the States?

Read this: http://www.visajourney.com/content/compare

It can help with your decision.

How long does it take? It varies. Depends on a lot of things like where your petition is adjudicated, if you get an RFE/if you have a complete petition, etc. Can be as quick as a couple of days for NOA2 or can go up to a year. Maybe set your expectations to 5 months or more. Best not to have expectations at all on adjudication speed.

Good luck!

Edited by iammrsregie

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ecuador
Timeline

Unanswered duplicate thread removed; this thread moved from K-1 Process forum to the "What Visa Do I Need" forum.

06-04-2007 = TSC stamps postal return-receipt for I-129f.

06-11-2007 = NOA1 date (unknown to me).

07-20-2007 = Phoned Immigration Officer; got WAC#; where's NOA1?

09-25-2007 = Touch (first-ever).