h2o15

What happens to F-1 status after you apply for adjustment of status?

9 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm currently an international student (F-1) and my boyfriend and I are hoping to get married and start the adjustment of status soon. I know that since I legally entered the country on my visa, I can adjust status and apply for permanent residency. However, I still have a year left of school, and I was wondering what happens to my F-1 visa when I send in my application (I-130, I-485, etc.). I would like to continue being a student and receive my diploma at the end of the school year next year, and I don't want adjustment of status to interfere with my studies.

With that my questions are:

1. What happens to F-1 when you apply for AOS?

2. Do I have to let my school's international office know that I applied for AOS?

3. Can I continue attending school and obtain my diploma?

4. If I had an on-campus job during the school year (which is legal and allowed for F-1 students), can I continue with that job even after I file for AOS?

Thank you.

Thanks everyone.

Additional question is--what happens if somehow I am not successful on my AOS (so not get the green card)?

Can I continue on my F-1 visa and apply for OPT? If I have an employer who is willing to sponsor me for H-1B work visa, can I do that as well?

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Thanks everyone.

Additional question is--what happens if somehow I am not successful on my AOS (so not get the green card)?

Can I continue on my F-1 visa and apply for OPT? If I have an employer who is willing to sponsor me for H-1B work visa, can I do that as well?

Most likely yes to all your questions. It will depend on why your AOS was denied. There's a difference between not meeting a requirement (not meeting the I-864) vs. lying. The former will not matter. The latter would matter.