Ash2026

I-130 Immigration Process for Spouse (IR1) and Child (IR2), NVC process, US Embassy in Canada

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I-130 Immigration Process for Spouse (IR1) and Child (IR2), NVC process, US Embassy in Canada

Good Morning VJers,

I thought I would share my journey through the I-130 process for myself, my husband and our son. Now, when I first started this process last year, I found it really difficult to find thorough information on the process, specific wait times, and I rarely found information on IR2/CR2, children of US citizens.

Now, there are many websites that will give you information on this process, but they will not tell you many specifics/details, at least this is what I found. I was researching EVERYDAY, keep that in mind, and I am a tech girl.

It all started last year in March 2014. On March 16, 2014 me, my husband and our son where driving from Canada to New York. When we got to the border, the officer asked us if we were married and if we filed any petition yet. We have not filed a petition yet, we were going to do that when we arrived in the US. However, the officer told us to park and go inside to speak to an officer. When we were called up, the officer asked us many many questions about why I was going to the US and what ties I have to Canada. Now, we were only visiting, but I am assuming that because I was unemployed and not in school, he didn't believe I would return to Canada. After trying to convince the officer that my son and I were only just visiting, he said "okay, let me check your car...there's no furniture right?"
Me: "No, there's no furniture, you can check my car and my phone if you want"
When the officer came back, he said "you are not entering the US today". I guess maybe I was over packed, but we really had no furniture, just suitcases, I was seriously only visiting.