4 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

This is a question regarding the I-864 form (Affidavit of Support). This is not really a personal question as I make enough to meet the requirements, however, I am curious about why this information is needed (and I bet others new to this process might be wondering, as well).

I am going over the form now just to familiarize myself with what needs to be produced during the interview. I'm at part six of the form where the last three years of tax info is requested. I was wondering why this information is needed. What really matters the most in this situation: the current individual income or the last three years of income?

Thanks ;)

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Australia
Timeline

I am no expert like some of the people on this site, but assumption is that they want the proof that you have a steady stable income not just a current income.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: France
Timeline

Current income is certainly the most important factor in the income equation...but think of it this way: one of the key factors in the judgment-call aspect of the AOS is stability. Someone who has a multi-year history of filing a more-or-less correct tax return is probably a safer bet for ongoing stability and thus support of a new immigrant than someone who only has sufficient current income and an unclear tax status in recent years.

This is just an idea that I have: I don't have any special insight into the process.:) I do know, however, that due to living abroad my 2nd- and 3rd-year historical tax returns demonstrated an AGI well below the threshold and it didn't negatively affect our application (my current-year income was well above the limit, which as you say is what really matters in the practical sense). I'm just glad I filed properly with the IRS all those years when it came time to provide transcripts to the NVC.:)

I-130 mailed: 03/10/14 (from France to Chicago Lockbox)