AlohaMahalo

Japan origin, on F-1 visa currently, want to get married. Please help. (Newbie)

34 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Hey everyone. This is my first time on the forums. I would sincerely appreciate any knowledge that you all have on the subject.

So my girlfriend of approx. 3 years is from Japan. She has been on an F-1 visa, or student visa, in the state of Hawaii for the past 3 years. She completed her education after 2 years and has spent the last year working for a travel agency on an internship.

Her visa will expire June 30th, 2015. She has never mentioned a grace period to me...but has said that after her visa ends, she could have a "sight-seeing visa" which would be for 2 months, and then after that she will be forced to go back to Japan.

Of course, we want to get married...but I have yet to propose. I am certainly expecting that she will say yes...and so I am trying to do research so I know what were getting into without ruining the surprise. Also - there are financial concerns...meaning I can't afford a wedding/ring at the moment despite my intentions.

With all this being said - I'm asking for your advice on which visa and route to go?

My Goal - To be able to keep her here in Hawaii with me at all costs. I don't want her to go back to Japan even for 6-8 months like I've read that the process takes...is this possible?

The 2 options that I THINK we have:

1 - Fiance visa - So I propose, but we have her file for a K-1 visa and we don't rush the marriage planning, etc...I understand that these visas last for 1 year? This would give us 1 year to prepare for the wedding, etc...but then I'm worried we will be going through all of this process all over again!? She'll need to get a NEW visa AFTER the K-1 expires...and potentially STILL have to be sent back to Japan, right? Again...I want to avoid this if possible.