fifthnormal

F-1 Out of status - need advice

92 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I am an F-1 student whose SEVIS record was terminated a few months ago. I let myself go out of status because I got married and thought my wife would get me a green card. Well, it didn't work, and now I want to go back to school. My school readmitted me, but I can't do reinstatement because I can't afford to wait. So I need to go back to my home country to get a new F-1.

I was told to bring evidence of my marriage and that it was genuine, but I can't really do that. I was told that I might not be able to get my F-1 because I terminated my original status.

What are the chances this would happen? Does it seem likely? Thanks.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Not sure if the marriage and its validity is that relevant.

But you are correct there are two possible results from a Visa application.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

I was told to bring evidence of my marriage because the reason I abandoned my F-1 status is because I got married. But my marriage didn't work, my wife won't file paperwork for me to sponsor me, and now I need to return to my home country to get another F-1 to go back to school. They said to bring evidence that I had a good faith marriage so that I could get my F-1 visa.

Are you saying that this won't work and they won't let me go back to my original F-1 status by giving me a new F-1 visa? I've only been out of status a short period of time.

Timeline

Who is they?