JustAlexandra

K-1 Visa, U.S citizen living in Ireland, no place of residence in US

14 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ireland
Timeline

Hi there,

I was wondering would anyone be able to help me.

I am just starting out the whole K-1 Visa process, and I am stuck already, my fiancé is an American citizen but is

living in Ireland for the past 20 years, so when he goes to fill in the place of residence in the U.S. he doesnt have one, he has a job here but not in the America. We do have savings though.

Has anyone else come up across this? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Also where does he file the petition since we are both living in Ireland.

Thank you

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

If he has no residence in the states and has been living in Ireland for 20 years, a few things you might get caught on -

1) Has he been filing taxes with the IRS, at least for the past three years? If he is a citizen, it does not matter where he lives or for how long, he is still required to file taxes. If he hasn't, you need to address this.

2) If he has no place of residence, then you can't prove that he has maintained a U.S. Domicile, that could cause issues. Where do you plan on living? Does he have friends or family who will be willing to allow you to stay with them or at least provide a letter that you have a residency there?

6/24/2014 - I-130 Shipped via UPS to Chicago

6/26/2014 - I-130 Received and signed for at USCIS

7/1/2014 - E-mail of acceptance with Receipt number - NoA 1 (Routed to California Service Center)

07/15/2014 - Change of Address via phone call with USCIS, confirmation via e-mail.

7/30/2014 - I-130 Approved at USCIS - NoA 2 E-mail

08/13/2014 - NVC Received Approved I-130 package from USCIS

08/21/2014 - Case Number and IIN created at NVC

08/25/2014 - Case Number and IIN received via phone call. DS-261 Available and completed online.

8/26/2014 - AoS Fee invoiced and paid online.

8/28/2014 - AoS Invoice status PAID