PeteM

Would getting laid off from the petitioning employer 4 months after receiving my Green Card cause any issues with N-400?

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I have been on an employment based Green Card for 5 years and 1 month and just filed my N-400. I'm a bit concerned because when I received my Green Card in early November 2008 I was laid off 4 months later in late March 2009 by the petitioning employer. I was an IT consultant and the client at the time decided to hire another company to continue the work (not due to my own or employer's fault). My employer could not find me another project so they laid me off. I could not find another job in the 2009 recessionary market and filed for unemployment benefits that I was entitled to. I eventually found another job in the same field around February 2010 and have been in that position since then.

Would losing my job so soon after receiving my Green Card and not being employed for almost 1 year after that cause any issues with my Citizenship application and/or interview?

Thank you.

No. It's not a requirement that you are employed to be able to file for citizenship.

Widow/er AoS Guide | Have AoS questions? Read (some) answers here

AoS

Day 0 (4/23/12) Petitions mailed (I-360, I-485, I-765)
2 (4/25/12) Petitions delivered to Chicago Lockbox
11 (5/3/12) Received 3 paper NOAs
13 (5/5/12) Received biometrics appointment for 5/23
15 (5/7/12) Did an unpleasant walk-in biometrics in Fort Worth, TX
45 (6/7/12) Received email & text notification of an interview on 7/10
67 (6/29/12) EAD production ordered
77 (7/9/12) Received EAD
78 (7/10/12) Interview
100 (8/1/12) I-485 transferred to Vermont Service Centre
143 (9/13/12) Contacted DHS Ombudsman
268 (1/16/13) I-360, I-485 consolidated and transferred to Dallas
299 (2/16/13) Received second interview letter for 3/8
319 (3/8/13) Approved at interview
345 (4/3/13) I-360, I-485 formally approved; green card production ordered
353 (4/11/13) Received green card