daisy16

JOB WOES

14 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

Are ya ready for my whine? :o

So my first real job here isn't going so well. I didn't want it in the first place, but it seemed like a good idea at the time.

I was a teacher with 13 years of experience, and I have to redo my certification before teaching here, so it'll take many months and $1000 or so. I took a part-time job doing afterschool day care for K-2 kids. I am the boss, the one in charge. I'm supposed to deal with all the BS and administrivia that goes along with caring for kids. Sort of like the principal. The money was okay I guess, not even 1/2 of what I'm used to, but it was helping me to feel more independent. Also, I had a lot of stress at work last spring, so I was worried I'd never be able to work full-time again and the 25 hours a week seemed to be a good start on that.

Well, I've been working 30 hours a week and then 1-2 hours per day unpaid, which really pisses me off. First of all I don't want to work more than 25 because of the stress. But the fact that I'm doing unpaid work at home as well is just crazy.

Not only that, but the rest of my staff can't think for themselves. I have to tell them to do everything. They can't handle a group of kids and get them to do anything. So instead of doing my job at work, I end up having to do their jobs as well. So I'm already burning out! At daycare!

I've come to the conclusion that I'm not a very good boss. especially when people are hired who can't even do the job they're hired for. If they could do their jobs I might have a chance at being decent. (I don't have hiring and firing rights, btw, MY boss gets those privileges)