cgn0030

Diversity Visa 2014: what to do next?

9 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Cameroon
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I was selected for further processing of the Diversity Visa Program for the 2014 fiscal year. I applied from my country of origin (Cameroon, Africa) and was happy to see that my name had been picked among so many other applications! The KCC suggests to file as soon as possible for the paperwork. I would have started it on May 1st, but I am not sure I should. Here is why: I graduated from an US university about a year ago and came back home for a sabbatical year. I am to go back to US in July-August of this year to begin my Masters program. I will be applying for an F-1 visa and I don't think I can apply for an F-1 visa if I have already began on the DV procedure, can I? I have emailed KCC but all they said was that if I was in the US I could just apply for adjustment of status, which of course is not guaranteed since my local CIS office will have to determine if I am elegible for the AOS or not. If I am right, the processing of DV applications will not beging until October of 2013, date at which the fiscal year begins, and end in September of 2014, right? If that's true, then either way my application wouldn't be processed until october?

So the question I am asking is, should I mail the documents to KCC from my home country or should I just wait to already be in the US this summer to do it? Because applying from here, wouldn't that mean that i'll have to come back for my interview at my embassy, granted that KCC assigns me a visa interview date?

Also, when should i begin to check the via bulletin? And what category should I refer to on it?

Thank you for any advice!

CN: 2014AF00032XXX
Entry Date: October 2012
Result checked: 1 May 2013
Sent Forms to KCC: 6 May 2013
Courier Confirmed delivery:
KCC Confirmed forms: