10 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello everyone,

See i understand that there are guides on this forum probably detailing my situation, but there's something about getting a direct response - it creates a sense of hope (no matter how false). Bear with me :thumbs:

I'm new to the Forum. I graduated college Dec. 17 2011 and applied for a EAD card using my DSO's help. I was asked for RFE due to a birth date typo on my I-20. Shortly after, I was denied because apparently the initial application arrived "1 day" later than the 30 days time frame (DSO's error, not mine). DSO & I tried to get OPT denial overturned, but to no avail. Received the denial letter on April 3rd, 2012.

I'm 25, Born to a Nigerian Mum & Haitian Father & currently reside in Ohio with good friends ! I came here legally . My family does decent & so I've mooched of my dad since birth, with only one "serious" position were I worked in school in the registrar's office. :blush: (don't judge) !

My girlfriend Mika & I have been dating since 2008. She's 3 years older than I am and we're in love. She suggests we get married to get me situated (not that we haven't thought of it, but the situation makes it "sorta" pressing). I want to do it, but the hassle frightens me being that I've read all kinds of things happening. These are my questions :

1) When exactly does one fall out of status ? In my case would it be after graduation or the date of OPT denial ?

2) I hear the USCIS issues Green Cards on the basis of quotas', what are some key things people do to screw themselves over when interviewing that you think we should avoid ?

3) How long can I stay out of status until we move forward with the marriage ? She wants her brother to get back from the army sometime later in the year but I'm losing mind waiting.

Looking forward to your responses,

And thanks for the community - I feel better knowing there's many of "us" out there.

Arrived in the U.S - August 17th, 2006 on F1 Visa