BigBong

K1 Just getting started

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Cambodia
Timeline

First post, I am a US citizen and have been engaged to a lovely Khmer women for about 8 months.

I have been staying in Cambodia for about 10 months, planning to return to USA in June. I will be unemployed when I return.

1. Should I wait until I have a steady job/income before I file the 129?

2. Is there a way to include my income in Cambodia on the 134 ? or if I have my sister/dad/etc co-sponsor is this not necessary?

As I was not in the US for 5 months of 2011 my income will not make the cut. And my 2012 income will not make the cut as well.

No assets outside of a tiny 401k.

Any advice or helpful hints would be awesome

First post, I am a US citizen and have been engaged to a lovely Khmer women for about 8 months.

I have been staying in Cambodia for about 10 months, planning to return to USA in June. I will be unemployed when I return.

1. Should I wait until I have a steady job/income before I file the 129?

2. Is there a way to include my income in Cambodia on the 134 ? or if I have my sister/dad/etc co-sponsor is this not necessary?

As I was not in the US for 5 months of 2011 my income will not make the cut. And my 2012 income will not make the cut as well.

No assets outside of a tiny 401k.

Any advice or helpful hints would be awesome

Did you include the income you earned in Cambodia on your income tax return for 2011? If not, you should have since as a US citizen, any income you earn on this planet is subject to US taxes. (It's why one of the Facebook founders recently denounced his citizenship, since he realized how much he'd be paying despite not physically living in the US.)

Please visit the IRS site to learn more:

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/international/article/0,,id=97324,00.html

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/article/0,,id=180946,00.html

You will likely have to file an amended return for 2011 that includes the income from Cambodia.