ashu

221 g- Recommended for Revocation

36 posts in this topic

Hello. My wife had interview 1st week of April at Islamabad consulate. I attended the interview with her. Although it was my wife's interview, the CO started interviewing me. I am a Permanent Resident. we have two kids and I thought there should not be any problem. I was previously married to a US citizen. The marriage took place in Pakistan so the marriage certificate (Nikkah Nama) was issued by local authorities here. I processed divorce in Pakistan as well and that Divorce decree issued by the local union council was accepted by USCIS and NVC to approve petition for my wife. But CO said I should have obtained a divorce in US and that this divorce from Pakistan is null and void. I told her that USCIS itself has asked me during the review to obtain a divorce from Union Council but she would not listen and said the she is sending the case back to USCIS for revocation on the grounds that your previous marriage was never ended and that you can not petition for your second wife. That is absurd. The State Dept immigration website itself mentions that marraige/divorce issued by foreign governments is acceptable in US. Please guide? Can I talk to an attorney who can ask the consulate to review it again or it is now final that the CO will send it back to USCIS? I heard that it may take months for them to send it back to USCIS.

Thanks,

ashu

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline

There are a lot of ppl who ask USCIS advice... from what ive seen you can't count onthat advice being correct. you should have asked a good immigration attorney.

Sounds like you should have filed for divorce here in the states waited for the divorce decree then gone to pakistan to also finalize it there too with the Union council before starting the process for your second wife.

how long ago was the divorce and obviously your first wife is aware that you obtained a divorce from her in pakistan?