carolec

F1 overstay, got confused with the solutions!

12 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Ola.

I just registered to this forum, I don't know if there is an "introduce yourself" section (I looked for it, could not find it), so sorry in advance if I am being rude by skipping some steps :) .

So here is my story.

I am from Paris, France, moved to New York in 2009 to finish my MA in Communication Arts.

I graduated in May 2010 with excellent grades, and got the OPT on the 21st of July 2010.

I found a job in my field of studies, I was good at it, my boss loved me. In December, I got laid off, we all did actually, since the company was from Luxembourg and just closed the entire office in New York.

I was a little traumatized by this but I knew I had no time to waste, so I looked, HARD, for a new job. I found one, part-time tele-commuting job still in my field of studies. My boss loved my work, so he started procedures with my lawyer for a part-time H1B. I was in heaven.

Meanwhile, I started to really get into photography, got a bunch of publications, and my own solo show in a big gallery in Brooklyn, NY. That is why I was looking for a part-time job: I was starting to realize I wanted to do photography only.

So in the middle of all the paperwork, my boss asked me to thank him for the H1B by sleeping with him :wow: . I refused, and got fired. I wanted to sue him, but I had a very weak case, since he had just filed for my H1B I had no credit... And since his company was virtual (no physical office), it was harder. Long story short, I gave up. I was angry and hopeless, but still.

I found another job at another company in May 2011. I had a couple of months left on my OPT and was starting to lose all hope. I just got confirmation that it was not written in the stars for me, because in July 2011, just a few weeks before the end of my OPT, I got laid off. Again.