DaveMore

Starting pointers sought... independent developer looking to go to USA

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

To say I know little of US work visa is probably an overstatement, so I'm helpful for beginner's pointers. I'm a German currently living in China (Skype-calling the US embassy for Visa info didn't work for me for now).

Background: I'm looking to move into the US with my wife (Chinese) and my son (German); myself I'm an independent games/ apps & web site developer/ designer and also wrote a book. My income is actually from the US due to things like eBay commissions, AdSense revenue, Apple Inc app payments and so on. My wife wants to work as an architect. I've been programming for 16 years, and want to continue to work independently on apps and such. Where would I get started for a work visa, or what type of visa it is that I/ we need?

Thanks so much for any help!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

There isn't really a visa for your case. Your best options would be:

- An investors visa- start your own US based company, must invest at least $500'000.

- A H1B visa; get sponsorship/ employment from a US based company (Maybe try Apple?), based on your experience.

Bye: Penguin

Me: Irish/ Swiss citizen, and now naturalised US citizen. Husband: USC; twin babies born Feb 08 in Ireland and a daughter in Feb 2010 in Arkansas who are all joint Irish/ USC. Did DCF (IR1) in 6 weeks via the Dublin, Ireland embassy and now living in Arkansas.

mod penguin.jpg

Here are links to types of temporary work visas http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/types/types_1275.html

and here are sponsored immigrant visas (except the investor visa also listed on this page) http://travel.state.gov/visa/immigrants/types/types_1323.html.

Good luck.

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline