DaniG

International Student Adviser Screwing up with F-1 Status

10 posts in this topic

So, this month, two semesters after my May 2010 graduation from a program in which I enrolled with F-1 visa, I found out that for the last 2 semesters I have been on SEVIS's list of students requiring registration. I also changed status right after my graduation, so I not even an F-1 at the moment, and under my current status I am not required to be enrolled in any courses, let alone at that school.

I got a letter about that the first semester after my graduation and I emailed my school that I had already graduated and should not be getting such alerts because it is ridiculous that they would report me to SEVIS for not enrolling full time after I have already graduated. I got no reply from the international student adviser, but I thought everything was resolved at that point since it was obvious what he should do - report what he had failed to report when I graduated.

However, this January I got another letter, just like the first one, saying that SEVIS was alerted about my case and that I have failed to register for courses full-time. I am now questioning whether the international advisor in that school is a clueless idiot or if he is acting maliciously in my case. I contacted said advisor but he is obstinately refusing to give me any information about what he has been reporting to SEVIS and whether he has reported my graduation to them at all. He is very arrogant and is saying that I should deal with SEVIS myself and that my graduation has nothing to do with these alerts... I called SEVIS and they said it is the school's job to do all the reporting and sort out this case - they did not even ask me what my name was because they would not take status info from me.