VanessaTony

Getting a Licence in Iowa

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Australia
Timeline

On Friday 3rd December I FINALLY took my first steps towards having a US licence in Iowa, Scott/Clinton County, or in Davenport (Kimberly Road) to be exact.

First a little background. I'm 27, and have a full Australian licence. As someone with an out-of-country licence I get treated the same as a new driver so I needed to undergo all the normal tests, including the knowledge, driving, and eyesight tests. If I was from Canada with a Canadian licence then I could have simply handed over my Canadian licence for a US one. Even though they are of course a different country, I was told they have an agreement or something with the US..

I only sat the knowledge portion of the test because I wanted to ensure I was fully covered by insurance should something happen while out driving for the test. While I'm a competent driver it was soon going to start snowing (I just didn't realise it would start later that day!) and I just didn't want to risk it.

I tried HARD to study the material but it's SO dry, nothing like the books we have in Australia. The day before the test I was reading questions out to mum online and decided to just show her how boring it was so I went to link the book from the website and noticed, to my horror, that they've released a new one since the last time I was on the website... They'd removed the test questions found at the end of each section (to be replaced by only 8 vague not really question so much as notes, at the end of the book) and 20ish pages were missing... I've been putting off this test for a while. I just couldn't bring myself to study it, so I wasn't putting it off again, even though I was SURE I was going to fail now :(