horologium

Names on Social Security Card

7 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Singapore
Timeline

Hi guys, hoping to get some advise about changing my name on my social security card here.

Some background:

My name in my passport and K1 visa is listed as "LastName EthnicName FirstName MiddleName" (Example: Lee Li Ming Jane Joan). This is pretty much the conventional way names are written/recorded where I'm from.

I have a social security number from many moons back when I was a college student in the US on an F1 student visa. The school applied for SSNs for all international students, and the name they used on my social security card was "EthnicName FirstName LastName" (Ex. Li Ming Jane Lee).

Meanwhile, I've always used "FirstName MiddleName LastName" for pretty much everything in the US. My bank accounts, credit cards, and even my new green card has "Jane Joan Lee" on it.

Presently:

Right now, I'm in a bit of a fix. My local social security office says they can't change the name on my social security card since the name on my green card does not exactly match the name on my passport. To compound this problem, the local BMV will not test/issue me a driver's license since the name on my social security card does not match the name on my green card.

Any suggestions about how I may solve this problem would be very, very much appreciated.

Hi guys, hoping to get some advise about changing my name on my social security card here.

Some background:

My name in my passport and K1 visa is listed as "LastName EthnicName FirstName MiddleName" (Example: Lee Li Ming Jane Joan). This is pretty much the conventional way names are written/recorded where I'm from.

I have a social security number from many moons back when I was a college student in the US on an F1 student visa. The school applied for SSNs for all international students, and the name they used on my social security card was "EthnicName FirstName LastName" (Ex. Li Ming Jane Lee).