meridianpac

no simple answer? k-3, cr-1 and UGHHHHARGGGHH!

25 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Please forgive my ignorance, I am new to this and hope you all can bear with me.

My name is josh. My fiancee's name is Heather. I am a us citizen, she is Canadian citizen with a minor child (17 months old). She is sitting beside me right now, and we are going to be married on Monday. We didn't plan on it. Just something that we both feel is imperative to do. She is here on a visitors visa that will expire on august 30th. It is a b2 visa that we didn't even expect to get at the border when we entered the us. Her son lives in the Philippines and she will be traveling there in a couple weeks to retrieve him. She is leaving the us on the 9th to go back to nova Scotia to prepare for her trip to the Philippines, then she will travel back to nova Scotia for a couple weeks, and attempt to re-enter the us with her son to live with me.

So that is the situation. I have a very simple question, that no one seems able to answer, so here goes:

We know that we will have to apply for a visa of some sort. K3 or cr-1. I don't know which is better to apply for, but I'd appreciate any advice anyone can give me on it. My question is, Is there any way for her to stay with me while the visa is being processed? as soon as she Gets back from the Philippines we want to begin prep for her to come here with her son. ANY ADVICE ANYONE CAN GIVE WOULD BE AMAZINGLY appreciated. Thank you so much in advance for your time.

Josh & heather.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hey Josh,