BelleSade

Student marrying an Australian citizen

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Australia
Timeline

Hello everyone, new here, hopefully I can find some answers!

I'm a student in Puerto Rico (a US territory, so I have a US citizenship) and I got engaged to an Australian man.

Here's my issue. We're applying for the K-1 visa. Problem? He planned to come visit me in July (under the visa waiver program), already has a ticket, etc. I was told that he must be abroad while we apply for the K1 visa. Is this true? Can I apply now and have him come here in July while it processes? We'd both hate to lose the money, but oh well.

And how long does the K1 take to process? I stupidly booked the venue and everything for December 22nd. Hoping I can get the visa by then.

Thank you everyone. :-D

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

I'm a student in Puerto Rico (a US territory, so I have a US citizenship) and I got engaged to an Australian man.

Here's my issue. We're applying for the K-1 visa. Problem? He planned to come visit me in July (under the visa waiver program), already has a ticket, etc. I was told that he must be abroad while we apply for the K1 visa. Is this true? Can I apply now and have him come here in July while it processes? We'd both hate to lose the money, but oh well.

And how long does the K1 take to process? I stupidly booked the venue and everything for December 22nd. Hoping I can get the visa by then.

He needs be abroad to apply for the K-1 visa but he can be here (or anywhere) when you submit the I-129F petition

process can be 5-6 months. sometimes less, sometimes more

YMMV

Hope this does not come across the wrong way but if you want to have hopes of hitting your December date you'll need to get on the ball quickly and get the petition submitted. Now this is going to sound like I'm contradicting myself because you also need to take your time and make sure everything is correct.