ShariNYC

Going to divorce before removing condition, who should be the plaintiff?

17 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Japan
Timeline

Hi,

My marriage ended because it just didn't work out between us. We just signed a seperation agreement today and going to file for the divorce soon after, under the ground of abandonment (Our mediator explained that this ground is very common when people just want to get divorce, basically it's not literally abandonment but more like the person refused to sleep with the other...for example). My background is, I entered the country with K-1, we did everything right and we did enter the marriage in good faith. I have a Conditional GC which will be expired in March2010. I know that I have to remove the conditions by the end of this year. My questions are:

1. I am not sure which would benefit me more when I file for the waiver by myself, between me being the plaintiff or him (I mean for the divorce). (This is kind of urgent, please anyone have any idea?)

2. To make matters more complicated, I am going to a grad school this coming fall. I am applying for financial aids and loans which seems to be no problem because I am a qualified permanent residence. I am unemployed right now(got laid-off like everyone else) and don't think I will have a job when I am in school either (It's a tough year). Is that going to make matter worse when I file for the waiver? By having a big student loans, and not having a job, chance that I might not get a green card because of that?? I know a friend who divorced before removing conditions but she has a good job and makes decent amount the whole time, she now received her 10yrs GC w/o even having an interview! My grad school will be 2 years, and I really do need to have GC to get the loans and all that, and I really want to graduate to not mess up my life further.