2bornot2b

After citizenship: need to contact Social security and DMV

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

I understand why you need to apply for a passport but why do you have to inform Social security and dmv regarding change in status?

The social security card I have been carrying for more than 10 years since getting my greencard and my driver's license is just as long. Do we need to contact those 2 agencies regarding status change?

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Thailand
Timeline
I understand why you need to apply for a passport but why do you have to inform Social security and dmv regarding change in status?

The social security card I have been carrying for more than 10 years since getting my greencard and my driver's license is just as long. Do we need to contact those 2 agencies regarding status change?

JUst the Social security Office.

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

JUst the Social security Office.

But why?

Because Social Security Admin office kept your immigration status tied to your social security number...

Some of Social Security Benefit is limited to US citizen...

Some of Social Security Benefit may be differ based on immigration status.

For an example, you can receive some of Social Security benefit from overseas if you are U.S. citizen.

Also, it will help your immigration status consistent to other organization.

For an example, Voting system and DMV is cross-checking your immigration status using your social security number and names.

You have to file SS-5, the same form you used to request SSN, to update your immigration status from Lawful Permanent Resident to US Citizen.

For DMV, because of Real-ID things, they reenforced the system to have immigration status.

Sometimes it tied to expiry date, too.

So when police officer catch you on the road for speed ticket or something like that, they can check your immigration status.

So it's better to update both SSA, and DMV.