delbuono

tourist visa for colombian fiance a good idea?

13 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Colombia
Timeline

hey everyone. i am extremely new to all this. please help.

I will be marrying a woman from colombia some time this year.

we have begun looking up information on visa requirements. as of now, it's still like a foreign language to me, but hopefully soon i will sink my teeth into the whole process and know which forms are which.

anyways, she suggested that she gets a tourist visa. i dont know if that would be ok or not since our goal is marriage. i want to get her here as soon as possible and also be able to marry her with no hassle. i read on a visa service site that if we married while she was here with a tourist visa, we might face penalties because it becomes marriage fraud. is that true?? what if someone else were to "invite" her over and then i married her?

like most colombians, she doesnt have much money, so i also wonder if she would even be able to get the tourist visa.

either way, where should i start? where is the guided outline for the whole process??? is a do-it-yourself packet easy or is getting a lawyer a better option??? thanks a million.

jonathan

Edited by delbuono

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline

Keep in mind a tourist visa is a visa that has no immigrations intent, so if it is applied for and used for immigrations this is considered visa fraud, the USCIS and Department of state has specific visas that have immigrations intent, that is the K-1 visa.

If attempting to adjust status from a visa that does not have immigrations intent, USCIS can and does determine that immigrations was the intent for getting the visa, they can and do deport for this and bar individules from re-entering the country.

The K-1 is not that hard to apply for, just follow the guide here on VJ

OUR TIME LINE Please do a timeline it helps us all, thanks.

Is now a US Citizen immigration completed Jan 12, 2012.

1428954228.1592.1755425389.png