owaller

I-134 Filing when Fiancée Petitioner is a student

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi everyone, I could really use some help. I am very unclear from reading many other forum posts on how this goes..

I am the petitioner for the K-1 for my British fiancé. We made it through the first half of the K-1 and now he must do the interview and prove financials, but he has only been graduated and working for a year and does not have sufficient funds so he needs a sponsor. I am a student- graduating in May 2017. I have accepted a job offer (with a tentative start date of June 12, 2017) at a salary of $58,000, but I know since I am not receiving this income yet, it does not count.

My dad prefers not to co-sponsor but has an account in my name with $94,000 in it. As I am not receiving an income, for the I-134 form, can I fill out as the sponsor and just state this account as my assets because the form says to prove financials by income or financial assets. Is this sufficient/does a bank account with funds count? I really do not want to be denied and have the process slowed down. 

In addition, should I submit my job offer and acceptance to prove I will be shortly meeting the income requirements, definitely by the time of AOS? If I can fill out the form myself, do I state that I am a full time student as my job? Anything else I should consider?

Please help!

Thank you

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

If you are going to use that account just make sure your Dad is OK with it.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

3 minutes ago, Boiler said:

If you are going to use that account just make sure your Dad is OK with it.