cwoo86

F1 Student getting married to US citizen and need to travel

9 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Singapore
Timeline

Hello,

I'm a F-1 student getting married to a US Citizen on June 2. I was oblivious to the whole AOS process before I would be allowed to leave the country, and made all the necessary arrangements (flights, hotel, guest invitations) to have a wedding reception back in my home country on August 11. Having read up a bit more, I realized that I need serious help. I think these are pretty much my options:

1. Leave the country without changing my status, and hope they allow me in based on my F1 visa.

2. Apply for AOS, and then apply for Advance Parole. Obviously I'll have to expedite AP since there is no way it's going to be done in 2 months, and I don't even know if they'll approve it.

3. Abandon all wedding plans back in my home country, losing around 15k (flights + cost of wedding reception). Obviously this would be the worst case scenario.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Tanzania
Timeline

How about this:

Get married ASAP and file AOS. And can apply for AP if you are not out of status.

If you have not violated your F-1 visa terms, then maybe your 1st scenario may work. But if you are out is status, then your 1st & 2nd scenario won't work.

Jan 1999- F1 to USA

June 2006- AOS thru D.O.R.A.

Dec 2009- Oath. Finally a U.S Citizen

I am proud to be Tanzamerican!

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Singapore
Timeline

Basically the wedding dates are pretty much set, and can't really be moved around. My parents are flying in for the wedding, and June 2 works best for both our families.

As for my F1 visa, I am good till 2014. I have just read how F1 visa holders might be viewed as having "immigrant intent" when trying to re enter the US after marriage to a US citizen, and that is definitely my biggest worry.