Trying21

Extended trip home post n400 filing

4 posts in this topic

Question for anyone that might know:

I understand you can’t be gone for more than 6 months at a time as a green card holder (we will be filing for N400 in early October). We are planning on going home for 5.5 months right after I file. We travel a lot though, and will have been out of the US for say, 6 weeks of the year of 2021 before we leave for our long holiday to aus while my citizenship is pending. 

I will have been in the us for far more than 50% of the prior 3 years, but my question is, do I have to have been in the US for more than 6 months and 1 day of the year in which my n400 is pending? I am a US resident/aussie citizen and my  husband is a dual aus US citizen and we plan to live between the two countries (7 months USA 5 months AUS as an example). I am BEYOND ready to be home for an extended trip. We are going for 5 weeks in July, and then would be home from say, November 2021 to April 2022. I understand we will need to be ready to book my flight to aus very quickly for my citizenship interview and oath.

Does anyone have experience with this? I would be working as a 1099 for my US employer, husband would be remote for his US company, and our primary residence would remain in the US, basically just a long holiday.

Thanks for your advice! I wouldn’t want to get all this way and it up at the last step 😂

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Myanmar
Timeline
14 minutes ago, mb112 said:

I will have been in the us for far more than 50% of the prior 3 years,

What does "far more" mean? Perhaps give us precision down to a whole percentage point versus 10 percentage points of precision.

14 minutes ago, mb112 said:

but my question is, do I have to have been in the US for more than 6 months and 1 day of the year in which my n400 is pending?

A continuous absence of 181 days or more breaks your residency and generally makes you ineligible to naturalize. Your November to April plan is dangerous.