Scottish Mernymph

Pension quandry

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay on back(89) when I was a young whippersnapper I was contracted out of SERPS into Co-op by some smarmy snakeoil type. I'm in the process of tracking the policy down, it's now with Royal London.

The question/s is/are

Can I access this, I know it wont be much, once found?

I'm a sole trader & need to make a decision on whether to pay up NI on what I earned last year to protect my state pension here or try to transfer it when I settle over in the States.

Nobody seems to have the advice I need, finiancial advisors turn me away as I'm a smallfry & not worth their time.

Anyone here know what I should do or where I can turn to for assistance please? Cheers

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: England
Timeline

I contracted out of SERPS (before you) because my employer (Co-op) started a private pension which I contributed to for decades. The Co-Op still holds my pension.  We didn't get a choice because my employer contracted out. I also worked the last few years at another employer with a private pension which I will collect. I still have a state pension as well to collect.

There's a Wikipedia article about SERPS that might help.

I don't think I fully understand your question about transfer and collecting.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

If you are thinking about QROPS it is a no go.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Timeline
11 minutes ago, Boiler said:

If you are thinking about QROPS it is a no go.

Yeah, that's exactly what I was wondering if he was asking. 

OP, don't fall for that.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline