swiss polar bear

CA: Driving with Learners Permit

8 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Switzerland
Timeline

Hello

I passed my written test today and got a learners permit issued. I was told, that my foreign drivers license is no longer valid now and I am not allowed to drive by myself any longer. Is that correct? Until yesterday I have been driving for more than 20 years and now suddenly I am no longer allowed to drive by myself? Hard to believe... 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

a "permit"  is to learn to drive, and with a permit, you can only drive with an adult licensed driver with you.  However, if you are a good driver and passed you written, then just go and take your road test and get your license.    I lost my license  when I was young, then moved to Cal, and just found someone to loan me their car and took the road test, not a big deal. 

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Switzerland
Timeline

Thanks. Yes, of course. Made my appointment right away. May 22 is the earliest I get. Until then I am stuck...

10 hours ago, swiss polar bear said:

Hello

I passed my written test today and got a learners permit issued. I was told, that my foreign drivers license is no longer valid now and I am not allowed to drive by myself any longer. Is that correct? Until yesterday I have been driving for more than 20 years and now suddenly I am no longer allowed to drive by myself? Hard to believe...