jklm2010

Tax Document Question?

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I am currently at the step where NVC and my attorney are waiting for me to pay tha IV and AOS fees and gather together the paperwork for I-864.

But it's the most hectic time ever because it's tax season.

I have always worked for corporations and have always had a w-2 and easy taxes, but since July 2014 I have been doing some bookkeeping for

a friend of my father's who has his own small business.

So apparently he has been paying me as an independent contractor therefore it is on me to pay all the taxes on the salary he's been giving me.

I am sooooooo confused because I've never done this before and wasn't even aware that he was paying me as an independent contractor until

the attorney explained it to me.

Apparently I need a 1099 form from my boss AAAAND a business license???? How much of this is true???

Do I really need to issue myself a business license as a bookkeeper NOW when I'm filing 2014 taxes? And besides, I'm leaving

that job because I just recently got hired back into a corporation again as a sales person.

Sorry if I'm confusing you guys as well, I guess my question is...is NVC really going to look at whether I have a business license for this position?

I only worked for the guy for 6 months out of the 2014 year.

Any advice/help is appreciated! :)

~~moved to taxes and finances during US immigration from IR1/CR1 process and procedures as topic is about how to file taxes and not about the IR1/CR1 process~~

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hi,

The attorney is correct on having a business license to run your own bookkeeping business even if its one customer. Your employer should notify his accounttant about the 1099.

Since you are no longer opperatting the business, you no longer need a business license.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines