little immigrant

Quick question about traveling with GC

7 posts in this topic

So I've been in the US for about 3 years now. I got my 10 year GC. Now my step dad died and my mom really wants me back in Germany for a few weeks.

I will have my German passport and my GC. Is this all I need?

What do I need to keep in mind? I know when I came to the US with a tourist visa I had to fill out ESTA. Do I need to do this coming back with a GC?

Also when I come back, which line will I be in? US Citizen/permanent resident? Is there such a thing? Because obviously I'm not a visitor. What are they going to ask me? Could there be any trouble? If yes what?

Please let me know if I'm missing something. This is my first time traveling since I got my GC. It all happened way too sudden. I wasn't planning on traveling now. My mind isn't quite there yet. My step dad was only 49. :(

Thanks,

Andrea

Don't worry about any of these things. You won't have problems coming and yea, your passport (german) and free card is all what you need. All the other things you are concerned with are trivial. I am not sure about ESTA but the airline will tell you what you need. Regardless what line you enter through, it may take same amount of time depending on how many flight lades around that time :-).

Just do to your step dads funeral. May God rest his soul I peace. You can leave and come back with peace in your mind too.

I'm sorry for your loss. :(

All you need to travel is your passport and green card. You do not need esta.

When you return you go in the line for permanent residents not the visitor line. You won't have issues. Just declare anything you need to.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

• 3 weeks later...

Ok so I got back last Friday. I almost missed my flight because boarding wasn't announced over the monitor nor via speaker. I was pretty stressed.