CF41051

Filed Fiance Visa, thinking of moving abroad and filing Spouse - Need advice

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hello,

I am trying to figure out what to do next and I really need some advice. Here's a quick overview of my situation:

Me: US citizen (American origin, not Indian)

Fiance: Indian Citizen

Filed Spouse Visa and was accepted on May 7, 2014

We are both the same age, etc. so it's a real relationship.

Now comes the fun part. I have been giving some thought lately to moving to India for 1-3 years and just marrying my fiance in India. It would probably take approximately 1 year for me to get my India PIO card and get a job so for the first year we would just be living off my savings (not a problem, we could live a few more years without any issues) and enjoying life. I would either move back to the US with my spouse after a year or get a job in India for 1-2 years so I could get international experience then move back.

My issue is what would the process be once we decided to move to the US?

1) Would it be an issue that I already filed the Spouse visa? I assume I could just cancel this but I wanted to make sure it would not be a problem when I filed for CR1.

2) How long would it take to get the CR1 or IR1? I would probably be able to direct file so I was hoping that would go much faster.

3) I would not have a job when we decided to move back to the US. Would I be able to have a parent provide the affidative of support? I would probably have 5x the poverty level in assets as well.

4) How would I be able to satisfy the domicile requirement? I would not have a job until after I arrived in the US and I would not move to the US without my spouse.

The #4 point above is probably my biggest concern at this point.

I really appreciate any help that I can get as this is a very difficult decision.

Thank you!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Mexico
Timeline