noesum

I-130 Step-daughter.. Mother abandoned her, what to do?

8 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I am fairly new to this and have just started the process for petitioning my husband and his daughter (7 years old). I've read through some forums but am still a bit confused about this. My husband told me he has full custody of his daughter since her mother abandoned her when she was a baby and no one knows where she is... My question is: will the consulate (Dominican Republic) still ask for a notarized letter from the mother? Also, can I sign my step-daughter's G-325A? My husband had signed it and sent it to me but I realized he made a mistake on the form... So instead of him signing and sending another can I sign for her instead?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

a 7 year old doesn't need a G325a.

but you will need a photocopy of the child's birth certificate.

Please reread the I-130 instructions carefully. There is a section in there for step children. Be aware that she needs her own petition.

I suggest making sure he has a court ordered custody agreement, which shouldn't be too hard to get considering no one can find the mother.

Edited by NLR

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

~~Moved to IR-1 / CR-1 Spouse Visa Process & Procedures, from Bringing Family Members of US Citizens to America ~~

Spoiler

Met Playing Everquest in 2005
Engaged 9-15-2006
K-1 & 4 K-2'S
Filed 05-09-07
Interview 03-12-08
Visa received 04-21-08
Entry 05-06-08
Married 06-21-08
AOS X5
Filed 07-08-08
Cards Received01-22-09
Roc X5
Filed 10-17-10
Cards Received02-22-11
Citizenship
Filed 10-17-11
Interview 01-12-12
Oath 06-29-12

Citizenship for older 2 boys

Filed 03/08/2014

NOA/fee waiver 03/19/2014

Biometrics 04/15/14

Interview 05/29/14

In line for Oath 06/20/14

Oath 09/19/2014 We are all done! All USC no more USCIS