hellomms

Am I being discriminated against?

22 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Pakistan
Timeline

I am a US Resident from Pakistan and just applied for tourist Schengen Visa through Italian Consulate in NYC. I was asked for Birth Certificate which was NOT listed on in the check list on the website. I was surprised they asked this for a mere 9 day Visa even though I have been living in US for 13 years, have already been to EU in 2011, and recently got a 10 years GC issued. Is anyone aware of this requirement (Birth Certificate) for Tourist Visa?

I asked the officer why its not listed on their website as a requirement and the response was that "it would be discriminatory"! I was told the requirements changed last year

Naturally I am upset, (now) certainly feel discriminated against and on top of it I dont even know if this is an actual requirement. Is there a way to find out? I have a BC but I have hard time believing that BC is a requirement for a Visa while being a PR of US.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

I do not think you were discriminated against. Remember, you are not entitled to a visa, they can ask you for pretty much anything and a birth certificate actually seems reasonable.

good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)
Approval - November 9, 2011
209 DAY TRIP TO REMOVE CONDITIONS

Citizenship

April 29, 2013 - NOA1 for petition received

September 10, 2013 Interview - decision could not be made.

April 15, 2014 APPROVED. Wait for oath ceremony

Waited...

September 29, 2015 - sent letter to senator.

October 16, 2015 - US Citizen

Timeline