Ash&Dave

Filing joint income tax after marrying a Canadian in the US

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi guys,

I'm a 2nd year resident and made only around $43,000 last year, I was about to file the taxes this year (under the married filing separate) option and saw a refund of only $30.00. My husband (who's from Canada) but has lived in the US for about 10 years prior to moving back to Canada in 2009 does have a valid SS number and has filed taxes before in the US.

The question that I have here is that Can we still file a joint return this year (with his income being zero for 2011) as he has just received the EAD last week. We haven't filed it yet, but we tried doing it jointly my refund went up to about $900.00.

I have been reading on IRS's website and I don't see any problem in us filing together, but I just thought I'd ask here hoping that some of you are in a similar situation and can perhaps share your experiences.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Ashley

Were you married in 2011? Did he work at all in 2011? When did he arrive in the US?

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Were you married in 2011? Did he work at all in 2011? When did he arrive in the US?

We got married in Nov 2011 (he arrived in Nov 2011 as well). We didn't file for AOS until Feb 2012 though. He worked in Canada in 2011 (but not in the US).

Thanks

He can be counted as a resident for tax purposes if you were married in 2011 but you will have to include his Canadian income. If he paid taxes on it in Canada he MIGHT not be taxed on it again.

OUR TIMELINE

I am the USC, husband is adjusting from B2.

ADJUSTMENT OF STATUS

08.06.2010 - Sent off I-485
08.25.2010 - NOA hard copies received (x4), case status available online: 765, 131, 130.
10.15.2010 - RFE received: need 2 additional photos for AP.