Savagefire

why do I need I-824 form?

8 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Indonesia
Timeline

Has anyone had to file form I-824? I have not lost my notice letter. I recieved a letter from USCIS stating my case status is outside processing time and want me to file I-824 for a duplicate copy of apprival notice. Does anyone know what is going on here? I have already contacted my congressman. This is my first time applying for a fiancee visa and I thought things would be simple. I am pretty much disgusted with this. I applied in Feb approved on May 1 and been waiting and waiting for USCIS to send to NVC. And now they want 200 more dollars to send to the NVC and who knows how long a wait for that. I am sick of this runaround and thinking about canceling and marrying in her country and filing a DCF. I did not know about that before and think that might be a better way.

noticed profile in ChristianCafe.com

March 31 2005 - sent email

April 6 2005 - she replied

April 21 2005 - first phone call

April 23 2005 - first yahoo chat

Nov 18-28 2005 - met in Singapore

Nov 23 2005 - engaged

Feb 13 2006 - filed petition

Feb 16 2006 - USCIS recieved NOA1

May 1 2006 - NOA2

Aug 1 2006 - after 90 day wait called USCIS

AUG 10 2006 - letter from NVC stating petition still not recieved

Aug 21 2006 - contacted congressman and informed about situation

Sept 14 2006 - recieved letter from USCIS via congressman need 30 more days for complete review

confided with fiancee and agree to give 30 more days no more

Oct 3 2006 - recieved letter from USCIS stating that approvial notice sent 5-01-06, please file I-824 ($200) and 7 month backlog for duplicate notice

plan to abandon fiancee visa and go spousal visa via DCF

Oct 18 2006 - recieved letter from USCIS via congressman petition was RETRIEVED??? (FROM WHERE???) and forwarded to NVC and allow 30 days for processing