Him and I

Wife with no-income required to file Tax Returns?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Colombia
Timeline

:help: Hi I am really confused about if I am required to file taxes or not. I'm a LPR since Oct 2009, so that is how long I've been in the US. I'm a student and a housewife, I do not have a job so I don't have income. My husband filed taxes separately for 2009 and 2010. He asked his accountant if I was required to file taxes and he said: "If she is not working, she doesn't need to". Is this true? We live in a Community Property State.

Reading the requirements for application of citizenship it says that you need to include your tax returns. If I didn't have any income myself (besides what my husband makes), and I did not file tax returns for 2009 and 2010 separately, would this affect my application for citizenship?

Do I need to file now for 2011?

What document do I need to submit instead of the tax returns? Or how do I let them know that I do not have income?

I would really appreciate your help on this...

<<<HIM & I>>> TIME LINE

2007 Got Married
12/00/2008 Sent I-130
01/06/2009 I-130 NOA1
02/26/2009 I-130 NOA2 Approved
03/14/2009 AOS Fee Bill
03/18/2009 AOS Paid Receipt and Cover Sheet
03/14/2009 NVC sent DS-3032
04/01/2009 NVC received DS-3032
04/08/2009 NVC sent AOS Petitioner packet
04/10/2009 NVC sent IV fee bill
04/21/2009 IV paid receipt and cover sheet
05/12/2009 NVC received DS-230
07/06/2009 NVC recieved AOS
07/11/2009 Case completed !!!
07/28/2009 Appointment assigned
09/10/2009 Interview day, Visa Approved!!! Wheee!!!
09/19/2009 Visa in hand Wheee Heee!!!

10/12/2009 Flying home with my love Wheee Heee Heee!!!heart.gif

10/30/2009 Green card received !
07/22/2011 Filed to Remove conditions
07/27/2011 NOA Removal of Conditions
08/19/2011 Biometrics
10/19/2011 ROC Approved...Yay!!!
10/26/2011 Green Card in hand!!!
00/00/2013 Application for Citizenship

as1cF24uM2B0010MDY2NDlsfDAwODEwMGpsfEdDI