kstabler6

k-1 questions

15 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Costa Rica
Timeline

Hello everyone... man all this stuff can seem so overwhelming and chalk full of conflicting information. my fiance and i have been pretty set on doing the k-1 visa, but now im wondering about the cr1, since he could work right away. however, i can submit the docs for a k1 in a few weeks, whereas i wouldnt be able to start the other one for quite a number of months (id have to go there, get married, get all those docs sent in, before we could even start the cr1) so i am still leaving towards the k1 as our strongest option cause like i said it could get started in just a few weeks. any opinions? im new to all this so any advice would be greatly appreciated. naturally i have some questions, so im just going to fire em off.

1. which docs can be photo copies and which ones have to be originals (i.e. Original Statement, g-325a, etc.)

2. can i be living in costa rica while we are doing this process? we really dont want to be separated any longer, so im thinking of moving back.

3. in regards to the processing times, if it says 5months does that imply 5mo till he can come to the states or 5mos till interview or 5mos till they review the first set of docs?

4. my mother is allowed to be the affidavit of support, right?

5. in regards to the question of whether or not the fiance has been to the states, if they have only been to an airport intransit to another country do we say no he has not been to the states?

6. why do they ask for the fiance's social security number? isnt it obvious that they dont have one?? should we just leave it blank or put n/a?

7. the only proof of our relationship we have are photos and email correspondence. is this going to be enough or is there more we could gather? we havnt merged financially (cant get a bank to give us a joint account unless we are both there in person) and we dont own anything together...