Lady Titti

Consequences of Credit Card Default on H1B visa application

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Germany
Timeline

Folks,

With this post, I hope to get some sound judgement with regards to my H-1B petition in relation to my presumably defaulted US credit card.

First, let me provide you with some background information. I am currently a Germany citizen (since 2010) and have once entered the US nuder J-1 visa between 2002 - 2003.

While I was in the US, I was approached by a guy (a sales man) who was touting credit cards on University campus. He presented me with an application form which I truthfully filled, signed and handed back to him. he then proceeded to check an item that I left unchecked -implying that I am a US resident- telling me that the application will be rejected otherwise. A few weeks later I duely received the credit card (Chase Platinum Mastercard with around 15% APR if memory serves me right). It was all good and after I left the US I continued paying towards the card's negative balance, in small amounts larger than the minimum required. However, this became unsustainable for me as a student as my credit line remained more or less the same ( btw. 600 - 1400 US$ if memory serves me right) and I was spening money repaying the credit card for effectively "nothing".

So I gave up on the card and stopped paying -last time I logged in at chase.com was in 2005/6 if memory serves me right- and presume that the card defaulted. However, to this date I have not received any notice or whatsoever from anybody with regards to the card.

I have found a business opportunity in the US and my (hopefully) future employer has submitted a H-1B petition for me.

My questions thus are;

1. Will USCIS have visibility into my presumably defaulted credit card case?

2. If 1. is true, will it impact my H1-B petition and if so how?

3. Are there any precautionary actions you would recommend I should take at this point?