casiperuano

k1 visa translations

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Peru
Timeline

Hello all,

I'm just beginning my journey with my fiancee. She is from Latin America and we want to get the k1 visa. I have been going through the requirements and I see that we each need to submit a letter of mutual intent to get married. She doesn't speak that much English so I will need a signed translation. I am fully fluent in Spanish, did translations at the school I was working for when I lived down there would I be able to do this translation or do I need to solicit a professional?

better to have any translated documents notarized so you will not get an RFE

My Journey:

We met through a study-abroad program in Shanghai, China in August of 2009

We got engaged March of 2010

I received my K1 VISA in 6 months (June-December 2010)

We were married 04/02/2011
I received my conditional 2-year greencard (AOS) in 2.5 months with no interview (April-June 2011)

Our son was born 02/03/2013

I received my masters degree in Speech-Language Pathology 04/17/2013

I received my 10-year greencard (ROC) in 3 months with no interview (March-June 2013)

My husband returned from deployment 06/20/2013

My naturalization journey took 4 months (April-August 2014)

I became a US citizen on 08/01/2014

Received passport in 3 weeks (regular processing)

Thank you, VJ! smile.png

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

This is misinformation... translated documents DO NOT need to be notarized.... translated documents need to include a "certifying statement" from the translator that he or she is competent in both languages.... if that is you, then you can do it yourself

YMMV

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Peru
Timeline

Posted Today, 08:28 AM

View Postmessybrownhair, on 08 January 2011 - 06:47 PM, said: