therightlayne

affidavit of support

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Peru
Timeline

hey everybody,

i received my NOA1 in November and getting ready for the next steps. my main concern is the affidavit of support. I have been studying for the last several years and recently graduated (may) since then it has been tough to find work. I started a job Dec. 1st that pays 35k, but I am thinking about finding a different job.

let's say everything is processed quickly and we can get the interview scheduled in May, will 6 months of employment be enough? (assuming I stay at this job). My tax returns will show an income of virtually zero. Will a few paystubs and a letter from my employer be enough?? Or will I need a cosigner? I would like to get a cosigner just to be safe, but I got nobody!

I bet I'm not a lone in thinking this way, but I often fantasize about just leaving the states and scraping by in Peru to be with my love. Immature??

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Peru
Timeline

i have another question, how long of a commitment is the affidavit of support? I heard it was 10 years. and what does that commitment include? I just want to know so I can pursuade some one to cosign

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

It really depends on the consulate. Some are a lot more strict about the affidavit of support than others. You have a good reason for not having any income prior to your current job, since you were in school. They usually take that into account. It would be different if you were disabled or long term unemployed since neither of those circumstances would say much about your future earning ability.