weifengsd

USC file for brother, but now parents(LPR) taking over petition

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,

First of all, I want to thank all the members from this forum, we have gotten real far in our journey, lots of help from here.

Question:

a USC files for her brother, 10+yrs wait time right? or something like that...

Now that the parents have come to the USA and are LPR, we want to change the original petitioner from USC for the sibling to be LPR for their unmarried 19year old son.

I believe this cuts it down a few years in the timeline.

*currently the status of the USC-sibling petition has been accepted as of MAY2010 (does this mean the age is frozen so the brother never ages out?) i'm still a newbie at this aging out issue.

Please advice where to start,

thanks

Ben

Not sure about the age thing, but LPR's cannot petition, has to be a USC,either naturalized, or by birth.

Married: 01/02/09

I-130 filed: 11/06/09

NOA1: 11/13/09

NOA2: 02/11/10

NVC received: 02/18/10

Case complete @ NVC: 04/14/10

Interview @ Montreal: 07/13/10 - Approved

POE: Sweetgrass, MT, 08/07/10

Filed for ROC: 07/20/12

Biometrics appt: 08/24/12

Hi all,

First of all, I want to thank all the members from this forum, we have gotten real far in our journey, lots of help from here.

Question:

Now that the parents have come to the USA and are LPR, we want to change the original petitioner from USC for the sibling to be LPR for their unmarried 19year old son.

*currently the status of the USC-sibling petition has been accepted as of MAY2010 (does this mean the age is frozen so the brother never ages out?) i'm still a newbie at this aging out issue.

thanks

Ben

Depends on the country how long the wait time is for sibling petition - example - Europe, South America around 9 years (per current visa bulletin), Phillipines around 20+ years.

A person can have more than one petition in the pipeline so parents can definitely file for their son.