Happy2gether

Canadian Fiance going to remain working in Canada

44 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi There...a newbie here and just trying to get a handle on this upcoming challenge. If I have posted in the wrong area, kindly move if necessary...thank you.

Does anyone know how this would work. My Canadian Fiance, works in Canada and will keep working in Canada after we are married. He will just come here for 2 weeks at a time, then fly back up for work for 2 weeks. I own about 50% of my house, however I am a homemaker (my youngest child has a disability and her dad pays alimony...I do not have an outside job). He does not need a green card. From what I read, I am confused about how our situation will work. Any direction or pointers will be gratefully appreciated.

Thank you in advance...

My favorite quote: NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER give up ~ Winston Churchill

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi and welcome,

Here is the thing. There is nothing wrong with him visiting, however, as you stated, he will be staying in the U.S. 50% of the time. If he is seen, by the border personnel, to be taking up residence in the U.S. without the proper visa - at some point they are going to deny him entry.

Generally the advice here is to always bring strong proof of ties to Canada. Letter from employer, lease or mortgage papers, utility bill, that kind of thing - stuff that says hey - I live in Canada and I am not trying to immigrate to the U.S.

This one is really up to the two of you. Do you apply for his permanent residency in the U.S. with him working in Canada still (which in theory can be done) - or you do you just hope that he doesn't get denied entry on a visit. Nothing wrong with being denied entry, as long as he is honest with them about where he is going and why - however after being denied once there is a higher chance of him being pulled in for secondary questioning every time he visits and of being denied entry again.

Timeline