cutie bear

US citizenship filing then K-1 filing

7 posts in this topic

Hi! I'm a new newbie and I'm engaged to a fellow filipino living in the US. He has filed for citizenship and is on the 2nd level (fingerprints) of the process. Once everything is completed he will file a K-1. How long do you think is the US citizenship process and can he immediately file K-1 once he's a citizen? i know so many ask this before but how long is the processing is of K-1 especially for a filipina?

~ Cutie Bear

https://randomengineerblog.wordpress.com/

K1 application filed: 08/2010

NOA1: 08/2010

NOA2: 02/2011

Entered USA: 05/2011

Married: 06/2011

EAD received: 09/2011

Conditional GC received: 10/2011 (transferred to CSC without interviews)
10 year GC received: 10/2013 (Approved without interviews)
N-400: mailed to the Phoenix Lockbox 7/8 and received 7/9 by R. Magadan

N-400 Checked: cashed 7/11

Biometrics: 8/7

Interview: 11/6

Oath-Taking: 12/2

Hi! I'm a new newbie and I'm engaged to a fellow filipino living in the US. He has filed for citizenship and is on the 2nd level (fingerprints) of the process. Once everything is completed he will file a K-1. How long do you think is the US citizenship process and can he immediately file K-1 once he's a citizen? i know so many ask this before but how long is the processing is of K-1 especially for a filipina?

Can't speak on how long his USC will take, however, once he is an USC - then the K-1 processing will take the normal time frame (usually in 6-7 months) - as long as it's a straight forward case.

My Advice is usually based on "Worst Case Scenario" and what is written in the rules/laws/instructions. That is the way I roll... -Protect your Status - file before your I-94 expires.

WARNING: Phrases in this post may sound meaner than they were intended to be. Read the Adjudicator's Field Manual from USCIS

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline