milly7

Tn1/Flagging/marriage!

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello all,

I am so glad that I have found this site.

I will keep it brief. I am a UK/Canadian citizen living near Vancouver.

I am an attorney in WA state and England. My goal is to apply for TN status this summer.

In 2007,I met an American guy in Seattle and we started dating, all was well unil Feb 2009, when a nasty Officer took me into secondary, took my cell phone off me, detained me for 4 hours and gave me a real hard time. I was not refused entry, but told to always carry ties. i am now flagged in the system and am detained each time I cross..

To be fair most Officers are nice, and are sympathetic, however, it is still stressful. I cross around once a month, my boyfriend visits me more since my flagging.

My boyfriend and I have been talking of marraige for sometime.

Hes keen to get it on and file asap.

I am of the view I should wait until July, obtain my TN and then apply to adjust status later....the reason I say this as its quicker for me to get in via the TN and get working,if the spousal visa is filed in the next month or so, its my understanding it takes around 12 months, as montreal is backlogged....is this correct???

My boyfriend fears the Tn could be refused and then we would have lost 6 months,I told him TN's are usually granted to Attorneys.

So, any feedback would be appreciated...on all my queries...its such a minefield and I want to be smart about my decisions as I am learning that US immigration can be very complicated!

Anyway, nice to meet you all!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline