ToLoveAndBeLoved

Consequences of claiming UNEMPLOYMENT benefit !

7 posts in this topic

Hello VJers:

I lost my job rather company was shut down and everybody lost job. Everybody is ready to file for UNEMPLOYMENT this week. I want to claim UNEMPLOYMENT, too. I have been paying my taxes for the last 5 years. But, I am confused now as I heard rumors from so many people that if you claim unemployment or any benefit from the GOVERNMENT, you could be denied citizenship or your application to sponsorship( in my case , my mom) could be affected, even may be REJECTED. I am not sure about it as I really want to confirm this issue, before I go for claiming unemployment if I have to. I can live hand to mouth or even work odd jobs to take care of my wife and our bills and take no benefit from the state or federal, if that could in anyways HURT my N-400( Will file on Spetember 20, 2009) application or to sponsor my mother in future. Anyone here at VJ, who was in an immigrant status, had ever claimed UNEMPLOYMENT while applying for N-400, would enlighten me please. I would really appreciate anyone's input here. Thank you so much in advance for reading my topic. I dont know if it was too stupid to ask or to laugh about, but I apologize for that.

Good Luck

ToLoveAndBeloved

unemployment benefits are not like welfare or other means tested benefits,your employer paid for them, their like insurance and will not affect your citizenship

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

You and your employer have both paid premiums into the unemployment insurance programme so you are entitled to claim unemployment insurance benefits if you are laid off like this. It is like an insurance policy - you pay for it and if you need to use it, you file a claim to use it. It is not a means tested benefit from the government and will not have an impact on your citizenship application. You've earned the right to claim the benefits so don't hesitate to claim them.